Serial Thriller 2

By C.L. Harmon

He remembered that she was a school teacher and called on her some time later asking if she would be interested in tutoring Porter. Of course she said she would and our friendship began. For the remainder of the school year, Porter would come to our home after school every Tuesday and Thursday. He would work on the lesson plan my mother had for him while I worked on my homework. Once we finished, we spent our time playing army, checkers, building forts in the woods and tossing around the baseball. He would even have dinner with us sometimes if Polk was late picking him up. We became the best of friends that year even though we went to different schools because of segregation. That summer we celebrated our birthdays together and it was the best summer of my childhood. We were the same age only a week apart but in separate months. I was the oldest in late June and his was the first of July. When we turned ten, my mama invited Polk and Porter’s mama Selma and the other siblings to our house for a cookout and suggested they celebrate his birthday with mine. That turned out to be a good thing since all the white kid’s parents wouldn’t let them stay when they found out blacks were there.  I didn’t mind though. As long as Porter was there, I didn’t care who else showed up. To hell with them anyway, they just didn’t know what they were missing I thought then and still do. Looking back on it now, I had no idea what type of storm was brewing in the winds to come. I know there was no way to see the dark cloud that was moving into position. Even if I had known, I couldn’t have imagined how sinister and ugly those blood-filled clouds would be when they opened to piss down on all of us in the small community of Spirit Oaks in that dusty small county of Pawnee where I grew up.

Leave a Reply

