Welcome

When I was a young boy, seven or eight years old, I remember standing in my parent’s body shop listening to Marshall Tucker Band’s “Heard It In A Love Song”. I believe it was one of those times in life when certain pieces of our surroundings fall together to form a memory that we never forget. One that we recall from time to time to remind us that there are moments in this life that are truly magical amid the hours of struggle and disappointment.
The music along with the view of the stretching highway void of traffic in front of me and the silence of the usual tools banging and grinding behind me, were moments that were unfamiliar in my young and ever active existence. My childhood was a loving and warm marathon of chaos where noise and constant movement were the norm.
For those few moments, when the calm and still events were taking place coupled with my inclusion among them, a picture perfect memory was formed. This would be the first time I remember the world being a much deeper and mystical place than the surface world I had only known to that point.
I have often thought back to that moment during times in my life when things didn’t make sense or if I just felt a void of some sort. It gives me joy, not happiness, but just a sense of joy that only comes with the security that “you know everything is going to be alright.” Perhaps in those few moments God picked me up in his hand and held and protected me even though I don’t remember feeling any cause for distress.
Whatever it was, the reasons for it remain a mystery but what it sparked I hope to share with you in these words. Mindsets are not meant to be a method of living or a gospel of humanity as I would never presume to be so pious. They are simply open-ended thoughts that I hope people will respond to much the same way they would to a kind comment or giving gesture.

6 Responses to “Welcome”

  1. Sammie Dennison-Harmon Says:

    C. L.,

    I think your “Mind Sets are awesome! Just like you!

    Love,
    Mom

  2. It looks so awesome Clinton!! I’m so proud of you. 😛

  3. This is going to be great!
    Everyone will be able to read your awesome mindsets now!
    Great idea!!!!

  4. Debi Cook Says:

    Clinton,

    What an awesome site!! Your last mindset made me think of a fond moment with my Mom and Dad. I am very proud your my family.

    Love you,
    Debi Cook

  5. janet nibarger Says:

    Clinton,

    These are great! You write the way people feel but cannot express!
    You are super!

    Janet

  6. Denise Dennison Says:

    Clinton, You have the act to make people take a moment to think and to act on what you write. Keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

